« New pictures of gas balloon pilots | Main | Gordon Bennett - European teams on their way tot ABQ »

19 September 2005

Warstein - gas balloons went into action

Traditionally the first weekend of the Warsteiner Mongolfiade is reserved for a gas balloon competition. And so it happened this year too. The mission was: fly as far as possible...

Sunday evening, September 4th, 7 gas balloons were inflated. Three of them took off by 21:00hr. These balloons also obtained the best results. The other balloons took off in the second part of the night.

Gasballon Wettfahrt - Warstein 2005

Because of the south wind the balloons went in the direction of Sweden. Four teams crossed the water, while the last three teams chose to land in the north of Germany. Marcus Pieper put his balloon down on a small island, Heinrich Brachtendorf chose to land on Swedish soil.

Astrid Gerhard and Dominik Haggeny got in a more western current and landed in Riga.

Wilhem Eimers and his copilot Ulrich Seel ... that was quite another story! Once they had crossed the water they didn't find a suitable landing spot. They had to continue and to spend a second night in the air, flying low over the water. Direction: Finland, where Wilhem had never landed before! After almost 60 hours in the air, a flight of over 2000 km and a final result of 1790 km, they not only scored a well-deserved victory but also set up a new German distance record.

The local police and fire brigade helped to retrieve the balloon and to transport balloon and crew to the nearest railway station. Two buoyant men landed at Schiphol on Thursday (the balloon followed later): they had had a magnificent experience and a very good preparation for Gordon Bennett 2005...


1. EIMERS Wilhelm - SEEL Ulrich
balloon : D-OWBI
distance : 1789,76 km
landing place : Joensuu/Finland

2. HAGGENEY Dominik, GERHARDT Astrid
balloon : D-OWNT
distance : 1197,78 km
landing place : Riga/Letland

3. BRACHTENDORF Heinrich - BUCK Freimut
balloon : D-OBWA
distance : 954,38 km
landing place : Alster/Zweden

4. PIEPER Marcus - WULFF Martin
balloon : D-OEGP
distance : 418,34 km
landing place : Romo/Denemarken

5. WEICHMANN Andreas - MICHIELS Andreas
balloon : D-OWBC
distance : 252,81 km
landing place : Bensersiel/Duitsland

6. RICKEN Volker - RUDOLPH Dieter
balloon : D-OLVE
distance : 237,97 km
landing place : Butjadingen/Duitsland

balloon : D-OBCW
distance : 205,20 km
landing place : Westerstede/Duitsland

Posted by Marianne at 6:21 PM

Email story to a friend

Email this entry to:

Your email address:

Message (optional):


March 2009
January 2009
September 2008
July 2008
March 2008
January 2008
December 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
June 2006
April 2006
March 2006
January 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005
November 2004
October 2004
September 2004
August 2004
July 2004
June 2004
May 2004
April 2004
March 2004
February 2004
January 2004
December 2003
November 2003
October 2003
September 2003
August 2003

Last messages

Lighter than air
Gas balloon contest on WAG is cancelled
Men with a mission
Helma Sjuts deceased
Coupe AĆ©ronautique Gordon Bennett 2008 - the teams
GB 2009 in Geneva
World Record Balloon Flight
GB 2008 in Albuquerque
America's Challenge - update #2
America's Challenge - update #1


Gasballoon Map


Official Gordon Bennett Pages


Belgian Balloon Pages